top of page

Another Family Affair Twist

I've touched before on how my family has been helping me write my books. My oldest loves to debate magical physics, try to catch plot holes, and suggest magical elements for me to use. And our littlest likes to suggest random things for me to include, in addition to giving me titles. Hint: in CONCEALED INFLUENCE, look for a bit about "You've got to be kitten me." You can thank my littlest for that.

Only now, it's moved on to future works. And I must say, I never saw this development coming.

Let me start off by saying that my husband is not a reader. At all. If there's a topic he's interested in, he'll skip over most articles and find videos to watch instead. And he researches things a lot. His quest for knowledge and innate curiosity of a multitude of subjects have earned him the title of Trivia King among people who know him. Coworkers are more likely to ask my husband for in depth answers to random things they think about at work rather than Google their question.

I told him about halfway through my first book that I'd decided to write. He'd told me before he thought I should (I'd helped him edit all his college papers, including his thesis, and even helped him win a contest for flight lessons because he also hates writing), so I was fairly certain he would support me. However, I thought his support would come in the form of, "That's great, honey. I can't wait to see how it goes."

I did not expect him to get involved the way he has. He started researching cover artists, advertising/marketing opportunities, and tracking my sales and reviews. This is in addition to helping me iron out plot holes, character development, and giving me ideas and new perspectives about all things magical. He is an avid PC gamer, after all.

However, he shocked me most of all one day last week. He told me he had a story idea and began to tell me all about this involved plot he'd been developing. I can't decide if it's a Space Opera, Military Sci-Fi, or another genre I haven't considered, but it's very interesting. After giving him a few things to consider, I told him to further develop his characters and adventures, and we've made plans to collaborate on some sort of space trilogy together.

That's right, my husband the non-reader and non-writer wants join the book world. Expect to see something on Amazon from J.V. Marsh, a husband/wife writing team, in the future.

Don't worry, I will finish The Magic Sanctuary Trilogy first. And I already have a Shifter spin-off trilogy in the beginning idea stages to work on next. Then I want to start a spin-off series after that. All set in this magical world I have created. Once I have the trilogies finished and the series going, I will take short breaks between my series books to collaborate with my husband on his unexpected but intriguing space trilogy.

But before all that, I need to get back to The Magic Sanctuary Trilogy. Book Two, CONCEALED INFLUENCE, is out now for Pre-order and will be launched on Monday, June 18. And CONSUMED BY MAGIC, the second novella between books two and three whose name my littlest has so graciously provided, is calling for me to begin.

bottom of page